Webinar: On noteworthy notes: not all note taking is created equal

  • 18 Jan 2017
  • 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM (EST)
  • Online
  • 5

Registration


Registration is closed

Abstract

Note taking has (at least) two goals. The first goal is to create an external record of content for subsequent reference, and the second goal is to facilitate comprehension and encoding of the material. Unfortunately, these two goals can often be in conflict. For example, students who take verbatim notes tend to have more thorough and accurate external records, but students who summarize content in their own words tend to process information more deeply, which leads to better encoding and comprehension. This leads different media for note taking (e.g. laptops vs. longhand - the former of which allows better verbatim note-taking) to yield different educational outcomes. Moreover, for note-taking strategies that require selective recording of information instead of verbatim transcription - questions arise as to how (and how well) students determine what information to record. This talk explores how students make trade-offs and determinations about what content to record when note taking.

The Presenter

Danny Oppenheimer is a professor at UCLA jointly appointed in Psychology and Marketing who studies, among other things, how people make decisions, the psychology of charitable giving, educational assessment, metacognition and the psychological underpinnings of democracy. He is the author of over 40 peer-reviewed articles and the book "Democracy Despite Itself: Why a System that shouldn't work at all works so well". He has won awards for research, teaching, and humor, the latter of which is particularly inexplicable given his penchant for truly terrible puns.

Date and Time

  • Wednesday, January 18th, 2017
    • 2:30 pm (Atlantic)
    • 1:30 pm (Eastern)
    • 12:30 pm (Central)
    • 11:30 am (Mountain)
    • 10:30 am (Pacific)
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software