Webinar: Effective Thinking and Learning: Research Strategies for Improving Student Performance

  • 01 Mar 2017
  • 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM (EST)
  • Online
  • 0

Registration


Registration is closed

Abstract

When students study correctly, their critical thinking skills are refined throughout the process. Few students interact with their academic environment in ways that develop and hone essential thinking competencies. Research suggests that students who correctly use a broad set of mental tools achieve comprehensive and enduring academic success. Participants of this webinar will be able to:

  • use new metacognitive tools to cultivate student thinking
  • use practical strategies to align students’ thinking and learning
  • help students maximize their study efforts by intensifying their focus and concentration skills

 The event seamlessly blends research, visual imagery, and real academic assignments to immerse participants in authentic learning situations. Participants gain field-tested best practices that have generated broad academic success among a variety of institutions.

The Presenter

Leonard Geddes is the former Associate Dean of Co-Curricular Programs and Director of the Learning Commons at Lenoir-Rhyne University, where he worked to improve student learning and academic performance. He is also an Associate of the National Center for Developmental Education. Mr. Geddes’ experiences span tutoring, working with student-athletes, assisting first-year experience programs, teaching college students, and various modes of learning assistance.

Mr. Geddes developed The LearnWell Projects as a platform to provide practical, research-based support for college and university faculty. Through this organization, he serves as a consultant for a variety of institutions. In his work with the National Center for Development Education, he has provided workshops for the Kellogg Institute, the Appalachian graduate program in developmental education, and the Chancellor’s Institute of the Virginia Community College System. Mr. Geddes has worked with numerous two-year and four-year institutions, and is a regular presenter at national and regional conferences.

Date and Time

  • Wednesday, March 1st, 2017
    • 2:00 pm (Atlantic)
    • 1:00 pm (Eastern)
    • 12:00 pm (Central)
    • 11:00 am (Mountain)
    • 10:00 am (Pacific)
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software