Canadian Tutor Standards

Committee Members

Housed within the Learning Specialists Association of Canada (LSAC), the Canadian Tutor Standards Accreditation Committee brings together unique knowledge and skills that are pertinent to the evaluation and accreditation of tutoring and tutor training programs.

The development of guidelines for the inaugural Canadian Tutor Standards is based on the hard work and feedback from the community. Learn more about the history and original working group membership here

Committee Group Members

Canadian Tutor Standards Chair: Jonathan Vandor, University of Toronto

  • Lyn Ben, Kwantlen Polytechnic University
  • Antoanela Denchuk, University of Manitoba
  • Heather Gaffney, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Dr. Alice Macpherson, Kwantlen Polytechnic University
  • Dr. Jovita Vytasek, Kwantlen Polytechnic University

The Committee meets once per month to assign reviews of Canadian tutoring and tutor training programs, discuss ongoing applications, shape upcoming Communities of Practice, and address any other issues that arise.

To contact the Committee, please email [email protected].


Task 1 To review the Tutor training and program accreditation situation in Canada and consider the possibility of alternative models of Canadian Tutor Standards that could lead to the opportunity of creating ISO standards for Canadian Tutor Standards. Task 2 To examine processes for consensus decision-making and stakeholder engagement within national standards bodies (NSBs) and liaison organizations, which could impact the credibility of resulting ISO standards. Task 3 To develop operations and participate in creating documentation that could lead to ISO Accreditation. Task 4 To recommend to the LSAC Board of Directors and membership that the Standards be adopted, once they are submitted for ISO accreditation, by members and institutions associated with the Learning Specialists Association of Canada.
Skip to content